• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • schmart

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    5   0   0
    Nov 10, 2014
    Lafayette
    I've been reloading for many years, but have started using range pickup brass for 9mm. I'm seeing a sizeable amount that won't case gauge after the loading process. I'm tumble cleaning it, and then sizing with either a Dillon or a Lee sizing/depriming die, and then going through a typical load process, ending with a Lee Factory Crimp die. I'm looking at how to resolve the sizing issues I'm having. Is roll sizing before I run it into my press the only solution? What about running it through the newer Lee APP to make sure all the bulges are out before going into my progressive press?

I used to never worry about this. i'd just give the ones slightly out of spec to my kids to run through their wide chambered blasters and let them use them up. As they never picked up brass at their friends, I didn't have to worry about the out of spec brass ever coming back. However, given the primer drought, and apparent permanent price increases if you can fine any, I'd like to get my reject percentage down, and as they won't reliability feed through my competition firearms I can't just ignore the case gauge.

Looking for suggestions from those who have seen similar things.

Thanks
    Rick

jhopson

Plinker
    Industry Partner
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Jun 4, 2018
    Trafalgar
    I was running into the same type of problem, then I started using the Mighty Armory Sizing die. I cannot remember the last time that a loaded round did not pass my case gauge.

MrMunster

Plinker
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Jul 5, 2009
    I was running into the same type of problem, then I started using the Mighty Armory Sizing die. I cannot remember the last time that a loaded round did not pass my case gauge.
    Funny. I would say the same thing about the Lee FCD. Not sure why it isn't fixing the issue here.