• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Hemingway

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Sep 30, 2009
    Indiana
    I've been fishing for over 30 years and had never even held a fly rod until last week. I asked a few questions of veteran fly fisherman but in the end, I just walked into Orvis with $300 and said, "I know nothing, get me set up."

They have free classes, which I took. They have great instructors. Within an hour, I'm casting 50+ feet, which is good enough for the ponds I'm fishing right now. I know it's not the cheapest way to do it, but I've learned through firearms experience that training and starting off with quality equipment is important and makes a big difference.

They had a decent deal going on (in my opinion): A Clearwater Rod (9ft 5w), Clearwater II reel, line, leader, case, a box of 15 or so panfish flies for under $300. As I've said, I'm sure I could go cheaper but 25 year warranty for something as delicate as a rod sold me. And I'm sure I'll want to upgrade the reel in the future but it suits my needs now perfectly.

5 min on the first pond I caught a couple of nice bluegill and it beat all the spin fishing I've done by a mile.

So, for now, I'm hooked, so to speak.

danielocean03

Come in, Manacle Shark.
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    6   0   0
    Nov 23, 2008
    Hamilton County
    Fly fishing has always intrigued me, I've never been but it certainly seems like fun.

Stupid question, do you need to be in the water to fly fish, or can you cast from the bank?

I just went fishing for the first time in years yesterday, took my daughter for her first time. We didn't catch anything this time out, but it was a great practice for both of us.

pjcalla

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    19   0   0
    Jan 29, 2009
    Hamilton County