• ...and so much more!
  • SEIndSAM

Grandmaster
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    47   0   0
    May 14, 2011
    Ripley County
    Looking for an all wheel drive dependable car. What's your experience? What kind of mileage do you get? I'm a multi-state outside salesman, so ride comfort and highway mileage is a consideration. If you have one, are you going to buy another?

I like that they are built right here in Indiana and I often have to go way up north in the winter, so I would like an all wheel drive car.

Thanks

paddling_man

Master
    Rating - 100%
    35   0   0
    Jul 17, 2008
    Fishers
    I've got an Outback Sport (Impreza) wagon. I've owned and driven AWD Toyotas, Nissans, Hondas, Fords and 4WD Jeeps, Fords, Chevy, Toyotas. The AWD application in Subarus is better for snowy, icy roads than any other I've driven.

Mileage? With the H4, in the mid / upper twenties on the interstate. H6? I'm not certain. We used to own an Outback (Legacy.) It was great too.

I would still rate Toyota as marginally more dependable and Honda with marginally better build quality. Only marginally though.

I would buy one again.

Indy_Guy_77

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    16   0   0
    Apr 30, 2008
    I don't have one... Nor do I have any close friends who have them.

BUT, you'll be hard pressed to find many bad things said about them.

We tried out the seats on a Forester before we bought our Mini-van, but it was too small for us. We couldn't get our baby seat in the rear while having the front seats comfortable for driving / riding. (We're both a few inches over 6')

Don't be afraid of looking at their other models besides the Outback. The Forester, while slightly smaller, is still a heck of a vehicle. It's classified as an SUV, though, rather than a car. This does affect insurance rates. And then there's the Legacy, which is, essentially, the sedan version of the Outback.