• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • avengedXT

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 84%
    20   4   1
    Feb 15, 2010
    Behind the V!
    For what it's worth: My XD9/Glock 19 comparisons.

Please understand I'm relatively new to shooting (two years now) so it's not like my opinion means much to most of the viewers on here.

However, I feel in my lesser of experience I might be able to shed some light on potential new shooters/buyers of one of these very fine firearms.
    In this comparison, I'm comparing only the XD9 4" Service model against a Glock 19. I have owned both and shot both. I have also owned an XD-40 4" and a Glock 23, both share same attributes as their "brothers" in this comparison.

Going apples to apples, I'm comparing the categories as listed below:

How does it fit in my hand?
    XD9: The XD wins it for me. It feels natural to my hands with its' seemingly slim grip. I read about it being a 1911-style grip angle, but in my personal experience I disliked the aim with this grip angle.

Glock19: The glock also feels good in the hand, but when still getting used to it I felt it was way too bulky. Felt like I was trying to strangle polymer every time I held the gun.

How many failures has it had?
    XD9: The XD wins in the first 500 rounds. 0 FTF, 0 FTE, 0 Stovepipes. Fired TULAmmo, Remington UMC and CCI Blazer TMJ all 115gr.

Glock19: The glock can't win in the first 500 rounds as the gun has only seen 250 thus far. 2 FTF (Old Mag Related), 0 FTE, 0 Stovepipes. Two of the included 10 round magazines I got with this (used) Glock 19 are old and will need to be sent in to Glock for replacement.

How good is the finish?
    XD9: The XD has what is reported to have the Melonite (supposedly identical to Glock's Tennifer) finish. I don't see it - the XD picks up scuffs and marks from many things. Even sometimes brass which is strange as brass is a soft-metal.