• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • red46239

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    6   0   0
    Aug 3, 2012
    SE Indy
    Some background: I attended the Appleseed in Liberty Indiana (awesome event, highly recommend Appleseed to everyone!). Afterwards, I decided I would like to shoot a known distance Appleseed (out to 400-500 yards). I already had an AR so I decided I would just set it up for shooting longer distances (scope instead of the red dot, new stock, sling, etc.). I had only put 200-300 rounds through my AR with the red dot.

So I made the trip back to Liberty to have Alan set me up with a Vortex Viper PST 4-16x50 FFP. Last weekend I finally got down to Atterbury to really get it dialed in. I started shooting 10 shot groups, but my groups were bad. I only had some Winchester 62gr with me, so this weekend I decided to go back with some different ammo and my sled and see what is what.

Here is the info on my AR:
    Doublestar Lower with CMMG LPK
    16" WOA stainless match barrel 1 in 7", chambered in .223 Wylde
    RRA chromed BCG

Below are some photos of my groups. My questions are below the photos.

Group #1 - American Eagle XM855 - 5.56 x 45 - 62gr (green tip):
    10-13-2013-Group1-withData_zpsc9791ff6.jpg

Group #2 - Independence - 5.56 x 45 - 55gr FMJ
    10-13-2013-Group2-withData_zpsd033562e.jpg

Group #3 - Federal XM193 - 5.56 x 45 - 55gr Ball
    10-13-2013-Group3-withData_zps20329be4.jpg

Group #4 - Federal Premium .223 – 69gr MatchKing BTHP
    10-13-2013-Group4-withData_zps2888b0d2.jpg

Group #5 - Federal Premium .223 – 69gr MatchKing BTHP - Adjusted scope 14 clicks up, 6 clicks left
    10-13-2013-Group5-withData_zps7401368d.jpg

Group #6 - Federal XM193 - 5.56 x 45 - 55gr Ball
    10-13-2013-Group6-withData_zps434a509e.jpg