• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • gmcman355

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jul 22, 2011
    What is the biggest factor in making a rifle accurate? I was at my LGS the other day and was looking over a couple rifles one being a savage with the accutrigger and one of the gentleman in there started to grumble about how no matter what trigger they put in it the gun could never match a 700. I know the 700 has a long history of accuracy but it seems most change nearly everything to get there. So what truly makes a rifle a tack driver or pattern like a shotgun

Mgderf

Grandmaster
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    43   0   0
    May 30, 2009
    Lafayette
    Remington is in the middle of a major lawsuit involving their triggers on some 700's.
    That's not to say they aren't good triggers/rifles. The majority are.

I have no personal experience with the Savage Accutrigger, but many, MANY people rant and rave about just how good they are.

JStang314

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    13   0   0
    Jun 8, 2011
    Personally I'd vote that matching the right ammo to he rifle has the most to do with accuracy. I have a cheap DPMS AR15 that might out shoot either bolt gun if it doesn't like what you are feeding it. Both guns you listed will be very accurate with rounds they like.

gmcman355

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jul 22, 2011
    The accutrigger did feel very nice for an out of the box production rifle trigger. Ive never been overly impressed with a stock 700 for the price you pay for them but ive also never been that into long range shooting. I'm starting to take an interest in it though and am leary of even beginning with my current bolt guns

phylodog

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    59   0   0
    Mar 7, 2008
    Arcadia