• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • BobDaniels

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Jan 7, 2009
    Boone Co
    My home has central air (compressor) for cooling and electric radiant heat from the ceiling for heating. The house is very well insulated and the radiant heat can keep the house quite warm even on the coldest of days. However, it is VERY expensive to run. Last January’s bill was more than 4 months worth of summer electric bills! Since the house already has forced air, I am considering changing to a heat pump so I can heat and cool the house from a single device.

My question is: Can I have the compressor swapped out for a heat pump? It seems there would be more to it than just swapping out units but my profession is not in HVAC. I have also considered adding propane heat to the existing furnace, but everyone (including the Mrs) thinks I am nuts for considering propane.

So, I am turning to the HVAC experts on INGO for input on swapping out a compressor for heat pump. Is it as easy as swapping one unit for the other?

Thank you in advance.

Lectric102002

Master
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Feb 25, 2013
    .- ...- --- -.
    My home has central air (compressor) for cooling and electric radiant heat from the ceiling for heating. The house is very well insulated and the radiant heat can keep the house quite warm even on the coldest of days. However, it is VERY expensive to run. Last January’s bill was more than 4 months worth of summer electric bills! Since the house already has forced air, I am considering changing to a heat pump so I can heat and cool the house from a single device.

My question is: Can I have the compressor swapped out for a heat pump? It seems there would be more to it than just swapping out units but my profession is not in HVAC. I have also considered adding propane heat to the existing furnace, but everyone (including the Mrs) thinks I am nuts for considering propane.