• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Car Ramrod

Master
    Rating - 100%
    8   0   0
    Oct 15, 2009
    Westfield
    I thought I would start a thread as a continuation/parallel topic of the body cam discussion.
    https://www.indianagunowners.com/fo...07160-body-cameras-who-uses-one-civilian.html

How many of you use a dash cam in your vehicles? Why, or why not?

I have been using mine for a couple months now and, fortunately, have not needed to review any footage from it. I decided to get one because I look at it as cheap insurance in the event something happens while I am driving. Will it capture everything? No. Can it tell the same story, over and over? Yes. Will it capture more details and remember it longer than I will? Definitely. As an unexpected side effect, I have also found I tend to drive a bit more defensively, safely, and legally* now that I have something monitoring my driving. I would hate to need to use the footage only to be reprimanded/dismissed because I failed to come to a complete stop at a stop sign.

*(Full stops on a red light before turning right, smoother lane changes, full stop with a 3+ count at stop signs, etc.)

This is the unit I went with. You will be into it for about $60-65 after adding in an SD card. In my searches of reviews, I found it to be the best for the money. You can spend more, but you don't gain much, if anything, for the added expense.
    Amazon.com: Black Box G1W Original Dashboard Dash Cam - Full HD 1080P H.264 2.7" LCD Car DVR Camera Video Recorder with G-Sensor Night Vision Motion Detection WDR 140° Wide Angle 4X Zoom - NT96650 + AR0330: Cell Phones & Accessories

In addition to my above reasons, there were two recent experiences/events which caused me to consider installing a dash cam in my truck.