• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • wintram

Plinker
    Rating - 100%
    10   0   0
    Jun 9, 2011
    I am new to reloading having have reloaded about a 1000 rounds now and am noticing that my reloads blow a lot more smoke than factory loads. I am using winchester 231 powder with winchester wsp primers ( I am currently only load handgun ammo) and cheap lead round nose. I am wondering if I am missing a step in the case cleaning process or if I should use a different powder next go around? Or is this just the nature of the beast?

x10

Master
    Rating - 100%
    30   0   0
    Apr 11, 2009
    Martinsville, IN
    231 doesn't smoke its the bullet lube, the harder the lube usually the less smoke, if the lube is gooy then try to get some bullets with harder lube, Or TELL your bullet supplier what you want, Don't forget to talk to your caster, different lubes do different things so maybe your supplier will accomadate you

my main point is don't just abandon someone trying to make a good product give them a chance to make what you want

parson

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    5   0   0
    Nov 1, 2008
    New Castle
    I add my vote to lube as the culprit. I use a lot of 231 and it seems to be clean burning with jacketed bullets. Most lubes for cast will leave some residue behind.

msd

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Sep 10, 2011
    Princeton
    I'd say, regardless, when you shoot lead, there'll be smoke.
    IMHO it'll be there regardless of lube, might be more with some lubes, less with others, but I think it also has to do with the powders used..

I'm shooting white label lubes thru my 45's...nice puffs of smoke.
    Using Rooster Labs on my 500 and 480. Looks like a muzzleloader at times, depending on my powder I'm using.

I might be wrong in my thinking, really never paid much attention to it, till this thread.

Skip

Expert
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0