• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • hrearden

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Feb 1, 2012
    Ok, I gotta start by saying that I am by no means ready financially or with my schedule for training. However, I have realized for a while now that I really want to get trained in defense and combatives by people who really know what they are doing. I am looking for suggestions on what I should do to start and where I should possibly go from there. I never served in the military and have never received proper instruction on a lot of things.

All this being said, I do know quite a bit about firearms in general already. I am a graduate of Colorado School of Trades and have owned/fired weapons since I was 5. However, I am still not what I would call a professional shootist. (I dont get much time to shoot anymore and money has been tight for the last 3 years). I have watched some videos and understand some of the concepts in training with a semi-auto rifle/carbine. I am very proficient with a pump shotgun (grew up in shotgun zone MI). I can hit a pie plate at 200 with my FAL without much of an issue, but thats not all that great. Neither is the fact that I can keep my 9mm on a man sized target with fairly rapid fire at 25 yds. I have spent a lot of time and money in the last few years trying to gear up on guns, ammo, and reloading (still not a lot of stuff but should be enough for one guy).

I have decided I want to attend an Appleseed shoot sometime in the next year. I have an old Ranger bolt action, tube-fed 22 (copy of a Marlin model 81) that I intend to use with a copy of a 1917 sling (the one on my FAL). When I am able, it will have a Williams aperture rear sight also. What do you Appleseed guys think?