• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • BogWalker

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    6   0   0
    Jan 5, 2013
    Looking for a good cheese shop. Preferably in central Indiana south of Indy or in the Lafayette area.

I'm in need of a larger selection than grocery stores carry. Thought I'd give local business a try before ordering online.

Larger the selection the better, but it's important that the cheese monger be knowledgeable. I'm rather new to the larger world of cheese and need help on recommendations.

BogWalker likes his blues creamy and his cheddar crunchy.

BogWalker

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    6   0   0
    Jan 5, 2013
    Jungle Jims is a fantastic place, but I was hoping to not have to make such a drive.

Looks like there's a Fresh Thyme store in Lafayette, and their sales flyer has a decent selection on it. Several cheddars, gruyere, havarti. I'll have to see if the buses run by there.

The dining courts here at Purdue have started stocking little pre-packed things of cheese curds. Not real squeaky but very good. A lot of the school convenience stores also have Cracker Barrel extra sharp cheddar single serves for sale.

To have tasted the 40 year cheddar that was discovered a couple of years back. That would have been marvelous.

Last edited:

terrehautian

Master
    Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    Jan 6, 2012
    Where ever my GPS says I am
    Love Jungle Jim's. If ever out near Canton, take a cooler and hit up Heini's Cheese Chalet in Amish country. They let you taste test every single type of cheese they have. I think you can order online and have it shipped also.

eldirector

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    10   0   0
    Apr 29, 2009
    Brownsburg, IN
    Looks like there's a Fresh Thyme store in Lafayette, and their sales flyer has a decent selection on it. Several cheddars, gruyere, havarti. I'll have to see if the buses run by there.