• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Oldbird13

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 5, 2012
    Hamilton County,IN
    I recently acquired an older German (Simson) .22 rifle and need to have a person with very good tig welder skills do a repair. Any suggestions/recommendations? Thank you. Oldbird13

17 squirrel

Shooter
    Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    May 15, 2013
    I tig, but I'm definitely not the insured to weld on a firearm.
    What is it Sir you need done ?

Depending on what needs to be done alot of firearm repairs that need a Tig are gennerally done by companys that do Micro welding. Like a cracked slide or frame. A dovetail that has been cracked or broken..
    Some gunsmiths can Tig..

ljk

Master
    Rating - 100%
    30   0   0
    May 21, 2013
    I tig, but I'm definitely not the insured to weld on a firearm.

I'm a Tig welder by trade I don't even weld on my own guns. too much liability.

I turned a good friend of mine away for a simple pin/weld flash hider job on his 14.5" barrel. It's already been drilled and aligned, only gonna take me 2 seconds to make a tack, but I just don't want to deal with it.

He ended up getting it done with a mig at a muffler shop.

Rookie

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    14   0   0
    Sep 22, 2008
    Kokomo
    I'm a Tig welder by trade I don't even weld on my own guns. too much liability.

I turned a good friend of mine away for a simple pin/weld flash hider job on his 14.5" barrel. It's already been drilled and aligned, only gonna take me 2 seconds to make a tack, but I just don't want to deal with it.

He ended up getting it done with a mig at a muffler shop.

Ouch.

17 squirrel

Shooter
    Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    May 15, 2013