• ...and so much more!
  • AllenM

Diamond Collision Inc. Avon.
    Industry Partner
    Rating - 100%
    133   0   0
    Apr 20, 2008
    Avon
    I have never done bowling pin before but I would like to try it.
    I have various caliber pistols. Ruled out the 380 and 9mm. That leaves me with either .40, 45 acp or 44 mag. I assume the 44 mag would be best but I have heard of some downloading them to help with recoil.
    Any Suggestions? Would 45 acp work ok?

browndog2

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Apr 26, 2008
    Either 45 or 44 should work well.
    45acp needs to be a little on the warm side for best results.
    44 magnum is overkill, so its often downloaded some to reduce recovery time after recoil.
    First time out go with the 45 acp. Shooting Pins is addictive, so you can try the others next time out.

AllenM

Industry Partner
    Rating - 100%
    133   0   0
    Apr 20, 2008
    Avon
    Sounds good. I have never shot my 44 mag anyway and would need to practice up.

Stupid dog avitar is driving me nuts....but I like it

bwframe

Loneranger
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    94   0   0
    Feb 11, 2008
    Btown Rural
    I'd love to get back into it too. I've gotta get some practice in though.

OK, glory days here. 20+ years ago I won a small, moderately informal, match the local range had set up.
    I took a noticeably different approach to what the others did. They were loading heavy bullets with heavy charges. One guy even cracked the frame of his Gold Cup. I was going for accuracy and recovery. I believe my load was a 200gr lead round nose pushed with 4.6gr Bullseye.

Barry in IN

Expert
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 31, 2008