• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • modelflyer2003

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Dec 8, 2009
    Eastern Indiana
    I live in Indiana near the Ohio border. Today I had to go to the Preble County Sheriff’s Office in Eaton, Ohio to have my fingerprints digitally scanned for an FBI and civilian background checks. I am a nurse in Indiana and I am applying for reciprocity so I can work in Ohio as well. I have my Indiana LTCH and my Florida permit, which is recognized by the State of Ohio. I was carrying a Glock 26 in a Crossbreed Supertuck. I knew that I was unable to take my weapon into the Sheriff building in Ohio, so when I got there I put in the glove compartment. I did not remove the holster, as it was empty and covered with my shirt. I told the woman behind the glass why I was there and started the paperwork. While I was filling out the paperwork, I saw the sign saying that it is unlawful to carry a weapon on the premises. I have to say I puckered. I went back to the van and removed the holster, so the deputy that I would be interacting with wouldn’t find the holster in case they do pat downs, as I saw that I would be going into a locked area. When he called me back, he asked if I had any guns, knives, or sharp objects. I told him I had an ink pen, which he said was fine. I went through two security doors into an area where there were prisoners in the fancy jumpsuits watching TV, as the Sheriff’s office and the Preble County Jail are in the same building. There was also a very large desk with four deputies working. Now, getting down to brass tacks. Is the entire facility including the parking lot considered the premises or just the front door where the sign was posted. I realize that one would have to get out of the vehicle and enter through the first set of doors and into the foyer to read the sign, but that doesn’t mean that some deputy wouldn’t claim it is the whole complex. I have so much to lose if I were t