Not open for further replies.

zekedageek

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Mar 19, 2010
    Bloomington
    Hello INGO!

In the last 2 years I became a homeowner, husband, father and Lifetime carry license holder.. in that order.. I think the first three are what 'triggered' the third, some sort of protective instinct must have kicked in. I never even considered gun ownership until then.

I recently inherited an older .22lr 9 shot revolver from my great grandfater, it's the only firearm I own, not counting my Red Rider BBgun from childhood.

I'm considering purchasing something like a 410 or 20 gauge to fend off the coyotes that are becoming evermore fearless on my property. I'm also considering the purchase of a handgun for personal/home protection.

I've never attended a gun show (though my brother is a bodybuilder and has invited me to 'the gun show' on numerous occasions :):) but I was thinking of heading up to the 1500 this weekend. Would a total newbie such as myself be lost at the show? Would I be better off sticking with local retailers?

indykid

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Jan 27, 2008
    Westfield
    Welcome to the group!

:welcome:

Going to the 1500 by yourself would be an overwhelming experience if you are inexperienced with current firearms. You would be like a kid in a candy store with no real way to sample anything. My suggestion would be to go with a friend that is truly knowledgeable in firearms. Beware those who think they know if you know what I mean.

I am not saying not to go. If nothing else it will introduce you to a bunch of varied weaponry. Take a note pad and list firearms that interest you. Then go home and research them on the web to find out the good and bad, and get an idea of going prices. You have a great site here for info on what you might find interesting.