• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • 1861navy

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Mar 16, 2013
    Seeing as its deer season I was thinking this might be helpful to some. I am no professional, and still doing my first one. Already I made a couple mistakes, and thought I'd share them here.

1: Fleshing- Be prepared for elbow grease. Some say a somewhat dull object is better than a sharper one. I found it easiest to use a knife for this part, after trying multiple scraping items like spoons, sheet metal I shaped, paint scrapers, etc. A drawknife or knife that can be drawn easily would work as that's what I ended up doing with my knife. However with a sharp knife you stand a much better chance of cutting the hide so be careful. Remove meat until you see indentations of blood vessels, then you've removed the membrane.
    I left a couple small pieces of meat on the edges to see what would happen later.

2: Salting: A variety of things can be used here, I used salt and borax. The purpose of this is to help wick moisture out of the hide and helps to keep bugs off as well as bacteria. Liberally cover them, I skimped at first not thinking about it. Within a few hours I noticed something odd, a slightly off smell. So I took it down and salted again, this time covering it about 1\4 inch thick with salt and borax. This seemed to work as the smell left and has yet to return.
    Remember those pieces of meat I mentioned, don't leave any on during the fleshing process, this stuff turns black and rock solid. I just cut those pieces off so I lost a few inches of hide in doing so. After salting be prepared for lots of dripping as the blood and water seeps from the hide.