• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • krizzz

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Sep 18, 2012
    Howdy All -

I am a total newb to the gun world. I've been reading a lot in anticipation of buying my first (of hopefully many) guns. I've read a lot about HK quality and reliability and they seem like a good manufacturer for a solid home defense firearm.

The P30 (.40 variation) and HK45 (.45 duh) both seem like good guns. I've handled the P30 and liked it (vs. a Sig P229 .40 Elite which was like an awesomely made brick).

Anyhoo, I need to balance stopping power with recoil because my wife will also be using the gun. I've also heard a lot about Sig and Glock quality in the semi-auto department.

I'd love some expert advice if anyone knows these guns well, or has other thoughts/input.

TIA!

melensdad

Grandmaster
    Rating - 94.7%
    18   1   0
    Apr 2, 2008
    Far West Suburban Lowellabama
    First off I would not buy a HK pistol because the company takes an arrogant and anti-gun position toward civilian owners of many of their legal, but tactical weapons. That said, I see no reason to support their handgun sales to civilians.

Other than that, welcome to INGO.

My feeling on home defense guns is that they should be able to be reasonably used by the smallest/weakest member of the family that is capable of using the gun. If your wife is recoil shy then she will not be happy shooting a 45acp, no matter what pistol is wrapped around the cartridge.

The 9mm, fired from an all steel gun like a Sig, Beretta, Browning or better yet a CZ, has minimal recoil that is easily handled by most people. The polymer framed guns (Glock, FN, M&P, Sprinfield, etc) with steel slides will have more felt recoil than an all steel gun. Ditto for aluminum framed guns. For a home defense gun you don't really have to worry about weight, in fact a slightly heavier gun is easier to control.