• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Petalpusher

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Dec 13, 2015
    FORT WAYNE
    Do hollow points destroy your gun barrel? I was told they do. I just bought a Glock 42, my first gun ever, for protection. It's a .380, and I would like to load with hp for carrying, I was told full to use metal jacket for practice.
    No technical talk please. I'm pretty new to this.

Spencir

Marksman
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Jan 21, 2013
    Indianapolis
    Hollow points will not hurt your barrel. Use FMJ for practice, because it's much cheaper than using hollow points. You should absolutely use hollow points when you carry.

romad7

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    May 17, 2013
    Dayton, OH
    I haven't heard this. Some defense ammo has more power so using it a lot could cause extra wear on your gun. It would be a lot more expensive to practice a lot with defense loads.

The hollowpoint part doesn't touch the barrel so it shouldn't wear the barrel any more than an FMJ.

For cost reasons alone, it is preferable to train with FMJ but carry HP. Just run a hundred or so of your carry ammo through your gun to make sure it works fine with that ammo.

Woobie

Grandmaster
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Dec 19, 2014
    Losantville
    FMJ or plated for practice because it's cheap.

HP, or some variant thereof, for carry.

Not your fault, OP, but the gun myths abound, and I'm continually surprised at the ones that keep popping up. I haven't heard this one before. Glad you're asking the questions, keep it up!

MCgrease08

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    37   0   0
    Mar 14, 2013
    Earth
    I'm thinking whoever told you this was referring to some defensive ammo that's rated +p or +p+. Those are higher pressure loads designed to make the bullet travel faster.