• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • JoP

Marksman
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Jul 15, 2011
    Bluffton, IN
    I am relatively new to cc...and dont do it very often. Picked up an inexpensive (like $25) inside the waistband holster that has a metal clip that slips over the belt (considering a tuckable for dressy situations but for now casual is fine). My issue is that I can't draw my glock...it just twists the whole holster out. Not sure what I am doing wrong. Holster need to loosen up, need a better one, is my belt not good enough, or do I just need more practice?

Thanks for your advice. Doesn't make me more confident to carry a gun I can't get to.

Indy_Guy_77

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    16   0   0
    Apr 30, 2008
    To me, that sounds like a holster issue...

Save up your quarters and invest in a better holster when you're able. And a belt meant to hang a gun off of.

esrice

Certified Regular Guy
    Rating - 100%
    20   0   0
    Jan 16, 2008
    Indy
    Your base is a good gun belt. They are stiff enough to not "pull" when you draw.

Next is a quality holster. Those with clips often do as you experienced and come out with the gun-- bad juju. Same with some paddle holsters. I'd look at something with actual full belt loops, or a clip that comes fully underneath the belt for support.

And of course none of that matters if the operator isn't up to snuff on a proper draw stroke. I'd highly recommend taking a gander at the Tactics & Training forum.

MrSmitty

Master of useless information
    Rating - 100%
    13   0   0
    Jan 4, 2010
    New Albany
    I just bought a Desantis Sof-tuck, very pleased with it I can draw and reholster easily (spelling?) plus It will hold my Charter Arms Off-Duty AND my Phoenix Arms HP-22 I paid $25 for it

BlueEagle

Master
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Feb 3, 2011
    Southern Indiana