• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • jblomenberg16

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    67   0   0
    Mar 13, 2008
    Southern Indiana
    I'm new to the 1911 platform, and curious how frequently you guys do a full detail strip and clean? I have typically done this every 500 or so rounds with my Glocks and AR's. In between I typically snake the bore and wipe down the outside to remove any powder residue and dirt, etc.

I detail stripped it when I bought it to get to know it better and clean it and oil it. Just fearful of the dreaded "idiot mark" and don't want to unnecessarily be taking it down.

Fordtough25

Grandmaster
    Rating - 99.1%
    110   1   0
    Apr 14, 2010
    Jefferson County
    What do you consider a detail strip? I dont fully break it down very often, but I field strip it after every range trip. I like my guns looking as good as they fire.

Same here, I will at least remove the slide and barrel and clean them after most play sessions. :): I don't really think that has to be done for the pistol to function properly but I made a habit of it a long time ago so I still do it. My :twocents:

bluewraith

Master
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Jun 4, 2011
    Akron
    I've been field stripping all of mine as soon as they get home from the range. I actually laxed in that the past couple of weeks, as I was only taking one gun out at a time.. spent a lot longer then i wanted to cleaning guns last night.

Don't forget to clean inside your mags every so often as well.

snowrs

Expert
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jun 4, 2011
    Evansville
    I field strip every time after I get back from the range. I also enjoy cleaning almost as much as shooting, I know I am strange but it is true. It is calming and gives me time to think about how to improve the next time out.

jblomenberg16

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    67   0   0
    Mar 13, 2008
    Southern Indiana