• ...and so much more!
  • rambone

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Mar 3, 2009
    'Merica
    Is This How We Police Now?

We can only hope so. Look, no injuries occurred and a mentally ill guy is getting the treatment he needs. It was a good outcome. Nobody needed to die -- even the police agree.

“They realized at that point that he was a mentally unstable person, so based on their experience, they thought they could use verbal dialogue to gain compliance and they were right,” Captain Stigler said. (source)

Kutnupe14

Troll Emeritus
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 13, 2011
    I'm clumsy (seriously, i am). If I ran away, I'd probably trip over my own feet and end up cutlets. So obviously, I'm not running away. And if I was an officer at these guy's PD, I'd never want them to back me up, because in the back of my head, I'd always wonder if they were about to bolt it things got bad. Because of that, I would probably be more inclined to resort to deadly force earlier than I should, because I'm not relying on the other officer as having my back.

pitbulld45

Follower of I AM
    Rating - 100%
    13   0   0
    Dec 27, 2012
    Terre Haute
    We can only hope so. Look, no injuries occurred and a mentally ill guy is getting the treatment he needs. It was a good outcome. Nobody needed to die -- even the police agree.

“They realized at that point that he was a mentally unstable person, so based on their experience, they thought they could use verbal dialogue to gain compliance and they were right,” Captain Stigler said. (source)
    so if this guy was chasing you with a knife and you had a gun you would not have shot him?