• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Wagswook

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Oct 1, 2008
    Hey all,

My wife wants to shoot my .45 but is 20 weeks pregnant and doesn't want to shoot the lead (due to lead dust etc.) I have been on-line (cheaperthandirt.com and others) but the shipping is crazy high:noway:.

I was wondering if anyone knows if I can buy the stuff locally. I have tried the biggies (i.e. Gander, Dicks, Wally and Meijer) without any luck. I don't want anything exotic just some UMC like this but they want an additional 14.00 to ship it.

Let me know!

Jay T.

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Nov 17, 2008
    Good thinking. I'm not a doctor, and I don't play one on TV, but I've had a mild case of lead poisoning and looked into the matter with great personal interest. I'd also strongly advise not letting her shoot on an indoor range. For the most part, they're the equivalent of foraging for food in a toxic waste dump.

Lead is vaporized in the primer and from the base of the bullet. Regardless of whether or not the airflow is OSHA approved, you can't avoid some degree of contamination even if you are shooting lead free ammo. Everything inside the range is contaminated with lead dust, from the coat hooks to the carpet, and everything you set down on it iis likely to get tracked back into the house, where infants are especially susceptible to the exposure.

I shoot on an indoor range when I have to, but not when I have a choice. The shoes stay in the garage, and the clothes go into the washing machine immediately.

Wagswook

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Oct 1, 2008
    I'd also strongly advise not letting her shoot on an indoor range. For the most part, they're the equivalent of foraging for food in a toxic waste dump.