• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • EOC

Plinker
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Nov 21, 2012
    The Garage
    Im looking at getting one of these for 40 S&W and .223 and before buying im wanting to know if everything I need "part" wise is in this kit?? I know I need bullets, primers, powder, etc still just needing to know about the equipment part of it. I believe its good to go just not sure.. And yes im new to reloading.. Thanks

Lee Pro 1000 Progressive Press Kit 40 S&W

rockhopper46038

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    89   0   0
    May 4, 2010
    Fishers
    Well, after reading the info at your link, there is more equipment you will need. I've run 2 Pro1000s in the past and can attest that they can make very good ammo in a very short amount of time, but they are a little bit more persnickety than some of the other presses. They are a great value if you don't mind a little tinkering, though.

So, the equipment you will need to have in addition to your press and dies (which do come in this kit), are a reloading manual or 5 (really surprised this LEE kit doesn't include Richard Lee's book on reloading which has reloading data in it. I thought it came with all of his presses), a scale (extremely important) for checking your charge weights, some case lubrication for your .223 dies, a micrometer or calipers (for measuring your cartridge lengths), and a bullet puller (to correct your inevitable mistakes). It would be very nice for you to have a brass tumbler, a case gauge, a die trimmer (for your .223 cases), a case chamfer tool (for your .223 cases), and a case collater (really handy for the Lee Pro1000 case feeder). There is a very good STICKY at the top of the reloading sub-forum that will give you a ton of good information. And if you are in the Indy area, Profire Arms and Supply conducts reloading classes that are well worth the time and cost.

SERparacord

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    Apr 16, 2012