• ...and so much more!
  • Ravstafarian

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Feb 2, 2014
    Lafayette
    Hello all,

I have a question I was hoping to get some help with, I've searched through the forum and didn't see it answered previously.

I am an out-of-state grad student from Florida and am interested in purchasing a hand gun, however am not sure of the legal issues associated with this. I know the easy answer would be to get a gun from FL but they have a 3 day wait, and as I only fly back maybe once a year for very short periods of time during holidays I run into some logistical issues so, if possible, I would rather buy locally.

The ATF rulings (shown below) are clear that I am allowed to purchase a gun using my FL drivers license and a government issued document with my Indiana address on it, such as vehicle registration. However I am unsure what the state law says as it isn't worded as clearly:

ATF Rul. 2001-5 (supersedes ATF Rul. 79-7):

"It is ATF's position
    that a combination of documents may be used to satisfy the Brady Act's requirement
    for an identification document. The prospective transferee must present at least
    one valid document that meets the statutory definition of an identification
    document; i.e., it must bear the transferee's name and photograph, it must have
    been issued by a governmental entity, and it must be of a type intended or commonly
    accepted for identification purposes. ATF recognizes, however, that some valid
    government-issued identification documents do not include the bearer's current
    residence address. Such an identification document may be supplemented with
    another valid government-issued document that contains the necessary information.

Thus, for example,
    a licensee may accept a valid driver's license that accurately reflects the purchaser's
    name, date of birth, and photograph, along with a vehicle registration issued