• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • bobzilla

Mod in training (in my own mind)
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Nov 1, 2010
    Brownswhitanon.
    I've been considering an aluminum frame for my trusted 1991A1 Compact that I'vecarried for years. I love everything about the pistol except the weight. At the last 1500 I picked up a Colt Lightweight Officers and was suprised at just how much lighter it is.

Would it be worth it to locate an aluminum frame for this pistol? Would the weight savings be noticeable?

drillsgt

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    108   0   0
    Nov 29, 2009
    Sioux Falls, SD
    It should be about a 10oz saving, not insignificant. I don't see why you couldn't mate your upper to a ltwt receiver and be able to swap out as you need to.

cordex

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    5   0   0
    Jun 24, 2008
    You would probably be best served selling the gun you don't like and buying an aluminum framed handgun that you do like.

Or drill speed holes.

ghuns

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Nov 22, 2011
    You would probably be best served selling the gun you don't like and buying an aluminum framed handgun that you do like.

Or drill speed holes.

What he said. Or better yet, keep it and buy another 1911 with an aluminum frame. All my 1911's are aluminum frames and when I recently picked up a RIA compact I could not believe how heavy the thing is.

drillsgt

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    108   0   0
    Nov 29, 2009
    Sioux Falls, SD
    What he said. Or better yet, keep it and buy another 1911 with an aluminum frame. All my 1911's are aluminum frames and when I recently picked up a RIA compact I could not believe how heavy the thing is.