• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Chiamare

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Feb 15, 2013
    I am new to guns. I purchased a Ruger LCR 38 special but when at the firing range realized it was too much gun for me. Have since sold it. I would like to meet someone who has a 380 or 22 magnum revolver who would meet me at a firing range close/near Fort Wayne who would let me test fire these guns before I try to buy/find another gun. I lost $100 on the last transaction and don't want to keep losing $ but need to find a revolver for personal protection I am comfortable with.

gregkl

Outlier
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    33   0   0
    Apr 8, 2012
    Bloomington
    I don't live close enough, but you are on the right track now. See if you can shoot a few.

If you are going to carry it or use it for PP, you will get a fair amount of feedback that will state that a .22 is not enough for those purposes.

Good luck in your search.

Garb

Master
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    May 4, 2009
    Richmond
    Part of your problem is you chose a very small framed gun. Try a larger framed gun and see how you like it. I'm not an expert on revolvers but I would recommend a Smith and Wesson 686 or a Ruger GP100 in .357 magnum to start out. It will be a lot harder to conceal carry, but it will be sufficient for home defense and it won't beat the crap out of your wrist after only a few rounds. I also think purchasing a good .22 isn't a bad idea for the sake of practice.

gregkl

Outlier
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    33   0   0
    Apr 8, 2012
    Bloomington