• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • cbop

Marksman
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jul 21, 2009
    Winamac
    I apologize for this rant but it has been making me want to scream for a while and I need to vent.

I have been a GM technician for over 20 years. I have been with my current dealer since '91 and GM has informed us that we are no longer needed. I know a lot of people have strong opinions about new car dealerships but the people I work for are different. In sales, I have heard them tell customers to "go home and think about it for a day or two. We want you to be comfortable about your decision" or "this isn't the best time for you to buy a new car. It will be a lot better to put a few dollars into your old car. It is in good shape and there are rebates coming later in the year". In service, we do not sell the 'wallet flushes' other places push. We will fix what you brought it in for and tell you if there are other things that you should consider. We then would give you a price so you can compare prices, no hard sell. Our labor rate is below all the other shops in the area, even the independents and much of our work is brought in to be fixed after another place either couldn't fix it or said they did and didn't. My bosses do not live 'high on the hog'... heck there have been times when I would have to pick up the boss to bring him to work because the car he was driving broke down... his opinion is that if a trade-in was questionable, he would rather drive it than put a customer in it.