• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • hschmidt

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 3, 2009
    i am thinking about getting a marlin 336 in 30-30 for range and deer.. i have little experience, but looking around on the net and asking in the stores this seems like a good deer gun - and a good caliber??

also - they have several different versions - is there some versions to stay away from??

from my research the advantages are:

common ammo (not expensive)
    30-30 strong enough for deer
    easy scope mount
    potential to use new hornady ammo (with "soft tip") extending range
    all-american

thank you in advance

br

Mgderf

Grandmaster
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    43   0   0
    May 30, 2009
    Lafayette
    LOVE mine.
    Just had it at the range two days ago. Mine is a few years older, (used when I bought it), but worth every penny I paid for it!

SC_Shooter

Expert
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    May 20, 2009
    Bloomington
    I've had a 336C in .35 cal for around 25-years now and love it. The gun is a quick pointing weapon and is tough as it looks. You'll love the hood over the front sight. It keeps limbs, vines and such in the woods from snagging the front sight. I've had it in all types of weather and out in the muck and the gun is very reliable.

Mine has taken several very nice deer and a few hogs to boot. The 30-30 will have WAY better ballistics than my .35, but I got it for hunting the swamps in SC. Not too much range there, but you had to have some punch for the hogs.

Jack Ryan

Shooter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Nov 2, 2008
    i am thinking about getting a marlin 336 in 30-30 for range and deer.. i have little experience, but looking around on the net and asking in the stores this seems like a good deer gun - and a good caliber??

also - they have several different versions - is there some versions to stay away from??