• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • tk71

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 3, 2013
    ECI
    Has anyone had success mounting a scope on a 91/30 mosin without drilling. I have read there is a 3/8 dovetail under rear sight. I wondered if the recoil is too much or not.Looking for ideas.

hrearden

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Feb 1, 2012
    There is a dovetail underneath the rear sight. Whether or not the combo of that and 22 rings holds up to recoil is something I do not know as I have no experience with that particular combo.

DoggyDaddy

Grandmaster
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    73   0   1
    Aug 18, 2011
    Southside Indy
    I tried mounting to the dovetail on a 91/30, and it worked okay, but I didn't use the right kind of scope. I really like these mounts - S & K Scope Mounts Home Page - rifle scope, scope mounts, Insta-Mount, SKulptured Mounts I've got one on my M38 and also on a Yugo Mauser and they're great! The key is to get the right scope. I tried a long eye relief pistol scope and spent too much time bobbing my head around to get a clear sight picture, but then I got two of these - Burris Scout 2.75x20mm Heavy Plex Reticle Riflescope FREE S&H 200269. Burris Rifle Scopes. .

That made all the difference in the world. It's crystal clear as soon as you bring the rifle up to your shoulder. If you decide on another brand, just make sure you're getting a true scout (intermediate eye relief) scope. In my experience a pistol scope just isn't the best choice.

Here are my two rifles with the scopes and mounts...

IMG_2028_zpsd1079f65.jpg

Last edited:

tk71

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 3, 2013
    ECI
    I was hoping to find something cheaper . Only use for occasional target shooting 50 to 100 yards and wanting more accuracy than open sights.

-Jake-

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    May 6, 2013
    NWI