• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Michael762

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Feb 14, 2016
    Centeral
    I know I am a little late to the 22 game but I have never had one before... Ive had ARs, AKs, and shotguns but no .22s haha. but anyway here she is. I picked it up Tuesday for $250 brand new. It is the Ruger 10/22 Tactical with the 1/2x28 threaded barrel. I bought it to be a suppressor host and a little precision gun. I am new to the .22 game so I am curious on what some good mods will be for it. I was thinking about the Magpul Hunter stock but I don't know. Any feedback is awesome!

Thank you
    Mike

indykid

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Jan 27, 2008
    Westfield
    You can go broke modifying a Ruger 10/22. I would suggest first shooting it as it came from the factory. After getting a chance to find it's short comings as you see them, then you can spend time and money upgrading it to your likes.

Most people start with a Volquartsen trigger set. Next would be an accurate barrel, although I know a lot of people who are surprised at how accurate the factory barrel is.

As for stocks, there are a zillion to choose from. You can make yours look like an M1 carbine, an odd Steyr AUG almost look alike, barracuda stocks for great hold in target shooting, Choate and all their variations, etc, etc, etc.

I couldn't just get one, as I had to make one a super light weight using a carbon fiber high tension barrel with a Hogue light weight stock. I have one with a Barracuda stock and accurized trigger. Got silly and took a barreled action and put it in a bullpup stock making it just barely legal per the length rule of the ATF second amendment.

And the funny thing, out of the box the rifle proved to be amazingly accurate given a mediocre trigger feel.

And then there are the scopes to choose from...

Good luck, remember that a 10/22 can either break your bank or your marriage. :D

nipprdog

Grandmaster