• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • evsnova74

Marksman
    Rating - 100%
    7   0   0
    Dec 16, 2011
    Near-east Indy
    I've been doing a ton of research on AR's lately, complete noob to all guns but it's starting to make more sense little by little. Youtube videos of assembly of AR's don't intimidate me in the least, so I was looking at the PSA kits and am on the fence on a couple things.

1- Light profile or A2 profile? I'm pretty sure I know the trade-offs, but what would/did you get and why?

2- If I decide on A2 profile, standard mid-length or mock dissipator mid-length? The mock dissipator seems pretty awesome, but is there any reason I shouldn't go that direction? Again, I've read all about it, but at this point I'm interested in why others with more experience made the decision they did. Or perhaps someone got one and regretted it, that sort of thing.

Just for reference, here are the links of the 3 kits I've got it narrowed down to:
    16'' Hammer Forged Mid-Length Light Profile Rifle Kit - Rifle Kits - AR-15

16'' Hammer Forged Mid-Length Rifle Kit - Rifle Kits - AR-15

16'' Hammer Forged Mid-Length Mock Dissipator Rifle Kit - Rifle Kits - AR-15

Of course any other suggestions are welcome as well. Thanks!

figley

Expert
    Rating - 94.7%
    18   1   0
    Jun 18, 2009
    SW Indy
    Barrel profile is personal preference. If you're going to be humping your rifle long distances, ounces turn into pounds, and it sucks to carry too much weight. I just can't stand the look of them. At the same time, I don't run full-auto, so I probably never realize the full benefit of my standard profile barrels. (since you're new - the cut-out notch on M4-profile barrels is for a M203 gerrrnaade launcher)

(in the interest of transparency, I have a PSA mid-mock mid-length dissy on order, and the wait is killing me. my other rifles are making fun of the naked lower)