• ...and so much more!
  • crazyj789

Plinker
    Rating - 100%
    20   0   0
    Dec 23, 2013
    Valparaiso
    Hello Ingo

I have a Savage action with a criterion 24" 300 Win Mag barrel on a XLR chassis. The loads I'm putting together are 225gr Hornady BTHP Match. I'm very new to reloading and was doing a little research on how to measure my rifles COL to the lands and start at .010" to .015" off the lands. I took a once fired piece of brass with no case prep what so ever and put a fresh bullet in the neck. I pinched it a little to hold the bullet in place. I then took a marker and colored the bullet. I put it in my rifle and closed/opened the bolt slowly to get my measurement for COL to the lands which was an average of 3.492". Upon reading the Hornady 9th edition reloading manual it states that a MAXIMUM COL of 3.340" for the 225gr loads. IF I take my COL to the lands minus the .015 I want to start with I get 3.477" which is 0.137 bigger than the MAXIMUM COL listed in the manual. My questions are...

Is my rifle screwed up?

Head spacing wrong?

Is the difference because of no case prep?

Is it normal to have that much of a difference in rifles actual COL to lands minus .015" to MAX COL listed in the book?

Thanks in advance....Jason

Last edited:

crazyj789

Plinker
    Rating - 100%
    20   0   0
    Dec 23, 2013
    Valparaiso
    The factory ammo that I was using is Black Hills 190gr match and I was printing 1.5" groups. I want to work up my own loads to see if I can tighten things up a bit.

crazyj789

Plinker
    Rating - 100%
    20   0   0
    Dec 23, 2013
    Valparaiso
    I used your method of measuring the chamber, but found it wasn't accurate or consistent enough. The Hornady oal gauge is very useful. My chamber is also about 3.500" oal. Your rifle is not screwed up.

Hornady Lock-N-Load Overall Length Gage Bolt Action

You will need the modified 300WM shell in conjunction with the tool