• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Arthur Dent

Master
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Sep 21, 2010
    I picked up a new M&P 15 Sport II recently. Haven't fired it, yet. But that's going to be later this week. I've found quite a bit on youtube about how to clean and lube it. My question is regarding the BCG. I field stripped it to make sure I got the process down and knew what was what. However, the surfaces on the BCG are sort of sticky to the touch. Using some CLP and a cloth didn't improve things at all. Is this something that needs solvent, some oil? I'm new to the AR scene.

NyleRN

Master
    Rating - 100%
    29   0   0
    Dec 14, 2013
    Scottsburg
    Clean off that sticky stuff with whatever will cut it. Then be fairly liberal with the lube. You can clean the bcg as often as you like. Some guys clean them every time they shoot and some wait every 1K rounds. Some of my AR's are sitting in the safe that haven't been cleaned in at least 300rds. It bothers me not. When I get them back out I just lube up the bcg and go shoot.

HnK

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    18   0   0
    Jan 22, 2013
    Brake parts cleaner followed immediately by your lube of choice. You don't need to lube the bolt face.

Huntinfool

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Mar 17, 2013
    Yes sticky is not what you want. Slick is good. - Some AR's won't run well if they aren't lubed up good. Most can't be too wet. Excess lube gets removed with the firet couple of cycles. But can drip down into the FCG and gum that area up.

1911ly

Grandmaster
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    6   0   0
    Dec 11, 2011
    South Bend
    Pick up some Hoppy's #9. Pour a little on a clothe and thoroughly wipe it down. I would disassemble it to do it. Most AR's like really wet bolts. Lube with light oil. the bolt sShould be shiny with oil.