• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Shadow8088

Expert
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jul 24, 2012
    My current carry piece is a Springfield Armory V-10 Ultra Compact in .45acp.

I've been carrying it for about 6 years. Never fired outside of range time, thank God.

I recently came across what seems like a good deal for a S&W m&p 2.0 in .40 and wondered your thoughts on it.

Price wise, it seems almost too good to be true. Do any of you have any experience or thoughts on this for my next carry piece?

2tonic

Master
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Apr 14, 2011
    N.W. Disillusionment
    Brand new M&P Shield Plus goes for $399. 13 + 1 capacity in the same size as original Shield. Or get the bundle with 4 x 13rnd mags and 1 x 10rnd mag for $449.
    Has night sights, and is cut for optics.
    Modern ammo tech has erased any difference between 9mm and .40, and made it difficult to see the small gap between 9mm and .45ACP.

ETA: Tons of holsters and accessories available for this platform.

223 Gunner

Master
    Rating - 100%
    201   0   0
    Jan 7, 2009
    Red Sector A
    I would think you get a compact .40 cheaper right here in the classifieds.
    Someone is running a Gen 5 Glock 23, which is a .40 if you're not familiar.
    And NO it's not me, in fact I do not even know the seller.

I looked at it earlier today.
    Plus you won't be paying sales tax on it either.

I know a lot of people on here poo poo the .40.
    I still own and carry in that caliber.

DadSmith

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Oct 21, 2018
    Ripley County
    Both tests are HST bullets.

45acp almost 90 caliber when expanded.

40 S&W almost 74 caliber when expanded.

9mm almost 74 caliber when expanded.

Does the body know the difference between 90 and 74 caliber when hit?

Like @2tonic Said above bullet technology is at its best now days.

Last edited:

Shadow8088

Expert