• eldirector

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    10   0   0
    Apr 29, 2009
    Brownsburg, IN
    So, my wife got me one of these:
    IMG_0686.jpg

What do I do with it? I am sure it is much more than a "walkie-talkie", and can even do more than my FRS or GMRS radios. Do I need a license? What other radio types can it communicate with?

Notalentbum

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Jun 12, 2013
    Indy westside
    Primarily, it is a handheld Ham band radio. I have several of them and you need at least a technician class license to transmit on it. You can listen all you want license free. There are ham groups that do testing for the license all over the state. You will need to study for the test but it's not too tough. A couple two hour sessions should get you up to speed enough to pass IMO. There are study guide apps available free to reasonable.
    I'm just getting started with this as well but not having a lot of luck with the stock antennas while down in my basement. Have not decided what I want to do about that situation yet.

Matt

Bill B

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    8   0   0
    Sep 2, 2009
    RA 0 DEC 0
    Be very careful with the frequencies you use. This radio is capable of transmitting on HAM frequencies (one type of license), GMRS frequencies (a different type of license), FRS frequencies (no license), and on public service, ie fire, police, frequencies (illegal). It is also capable of transmitting on a higher power on GMRS/FRS frequencies than is strictly allowed.
    Also, because it can receive fire/police frequencies it falls under the laws for scanners which says you may not have a portable scanner outside your home without a license.
    So step one is to find your local Ham radio club and visit them.
    Step two will be to get your Ham license (technician class).
    Step three, program that puppy and get on the air.