• Np3vs metalife

• Total voters

IndyGunworks

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    25   0   0
    Feb 22, 2009
    Carthage IN
    If there is not a certain look you are going for i would go for the hard chrome. Better bang for the buck.

each one has its place though and there is not enough information at hand hence the way i voted.

BE Mike

Grandmaster
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    18   0   0
    Jul 23, 2008
    New Albany
    I've had a S&W revolver done in brushed hard chrome. Most folks thought it was stainless steel. It was extremely durable (harder than stainless steel) and I never had any trouble with the finish or the gun rusting even in harsh environments.

I have no experience with NP3, but the ad makes it look very good.

KillStick

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    29   0   0
    Dec 9, 2010
    Anderson
    IMAG0073.jpg

This is Hard Chrome from Metaloy.

TopDog

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    19   0   0
    Nov 23, 2008
    I have only read and heard good things about both finishes. I have a two tone RIA .45 that Im going to have hard chromed (Metalife) on the frame. Here is why, although robar NP3 and NP3 Plus are fantastic finishes I dont need to put that much into a handgun that is primarily a range gun / truck gun / fun gun. I just want a durable, decent finish that will keep from rusting.

Now if I was going to refinish a really nice gun the extra cost would be worth it. I tend to think that people dump too much money into guns, money that could be used for ammo and or training. I take care of my guns but I dont shoot in any competition any more so I dont need to incur the extra cost of a really nice finish. Just my :twocents:

grizman

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Apr 24, 2010
    Home
    The APW hard chrome does not have the bluish tint the metaloy finish appears to have in Killsticks photo.

chizzle

Master
    Rating - 100%
    24   0   0
    Dec 8, 2008
    Indianapolis
    Things to think about: