NW Indiana fishing - I have 3 hours to spend, where to go?

The #1 community for Gun Owners in Indiana

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Spudgunr

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Mar 6, 2013
    NWI - Porter County
    Friday I have 3-4 hours to myself to go fishing. I'm not good at fishing, not terrible. But, I don't get out very often so I tend to go to the same places that I MAY catch a bluegill or two, but likely will catch nothing.

I live in Portage and prefer to stay close (if I have 3 hours does it make sense to spend 45 minutes each way in the car?). I'm debating: Streams for steelhead (haven't caught one since fall, not sure how many are in or how to fish them in the spring), the portage lakefront for potentially steelhead or whitefish (never tried for that), or some place new.

My main goal is to CATCH enough to eat. I would LOVE to have a spot I could go and COUNT on being able to catch at least 3-5 bluegill or 1 keeper bass at least 50 percent of the time. Its not worth it to catch 1-2 bluegill in 3-4 hours. So, can you guys help me maximize my time? Where to go and what to target?

marcum man

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Mar 20, 2012
    Bourbon