• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • ol' Huff

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Mar 8, 2012
    I would like to begin with the caveat that I am an expert at nothing.

I see a lot of people choose scopes over iron sights and when questioned about their choice in sighting system they claim “old eyes” as the reasoning. Some of those people really are old, some have corrected vision anyway, and many are younger than I am, which is saying something considering that I am holding my looks together rather well into my mid-30s. Hardly old eye territory. I posit that old eyes are really just an excuse. It’s an excuse based in the desire to simplify one of the tasks of shooting but often serves only to limit the growth of the shooter’s inherent skill, allowing them a marginal level of success but holding them back in many cases.

It’s not that the people claiming old eyes are wrong for doing so, they are just lazy, run of the mill reprobates who have talked themselves into believing that they have to have a scope to succeed and fear the effort required to achieve without it. Two of the toughest skills to develop as a shooter are trust in your Natural Point of Aim and the need to focus on the front post. Many scope shooters don’t develop these skills early enough in their shooting and limit or slow their development because of it.