• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • xdmdude

Marksman
    Rating - 100%
    11   0   0
    Nov 22, 2010
    southport
    So I'm new to reloading and wondering the in terms of powder between fmj and plated of the same grain. I loaded my first 100 rounds with Hornady 115grn fmj with 5.5, 5.8, and 6.0 grains of hodgon longshot c.o.a.l1.150. I had good success with this and will load more but I'm out of the fmj bullets and want to move on to the 115grn plated bullets I picked up from profire. Hodgon website doesn't specify a 115grn plated load. So am I safe to just use the same powder charge. If so will it also be safe to use with the lead 115 grn that I also have? I guess what I'm saying is do charges for a particular grn work across the board for that caliber no matter the bullet composition.

Leo

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    30   0   0
    Mar 3, 2011
    Lafayette, IN
    Most plated bullet manufacturers say to use the cast bullet data. If you notice, the plated and cast data usually over lap. With good thick coated bullets, I am often right in the middle of the FMJ bullet data by the time I test several loads. I have seen some plated bullets that are really thin, they look like a thin layer of paint, with raw lead showing here and they. I just load them with plain cast loads.

Rating - 100%
    44   0   0
    Nov 23, 2008
    Mishawaka
    Normally it's recommended to work up plated bullet loads using lead bullet data. You can run them a little hotter than lead bullets but you can usually find a accurate node in that ball park. I wouldn't recommend using FMJ data.

Gluemanz28

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    29   0   0
    Mar 4, 2013
    Elkhart County