• ...and so much more!
  • Super-T

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    May 24, 2010
    Southern, IN.
    Hello all.

I am new here and this is my first post, besides the one in the Greetings forum... So, here goes.

I have had my LTCH for around a year or so, and just recently started to CC. Now, I CC pretty much all the time except at work, and then I lock my weapon in a gun safe in my vehicle. I try to shoot regularly to remain comfortable and proficient with my weapon, but, I am no pistol expert.

My wife and I were having a discussion the other day regarding my new habit, and she asked me a question. What would I do if I came upon a "situation" while I had my weapon on me? i.e. I am present when someone else pulls a gun, and points it at another person. Not me.

I was not expecting that question. My thoughts about CC were focused on protection of my family and myself first and foremost while at home or in public... SO, I hesitated, and said, that, well, FIRST (IF I could do so safely) I would call 911 and make sure they were on the line recording whatever happened next... and that IF someone else was shot, that maybe that person was the shooter's target, but how could I be sure, that might just be the shooter's FIRST target... I would definitely feel threatened and would try to react appropriately...

Since this conversation with her, I have been thinking, "What would I do?" I don't know. How can you know until, God forbid, the situation arises.

Anyway, just thought I would throw this out here and see what responses I get.

Has anyone been in this situation? Any general insights? Does anyone have any link(s) that might have guidlines for lawfully and safely reacting in this type of situation?

Vince49

Master
    Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    Apr 13, 2010
    Indy urban west.