• ...and so much more!
  • Burnsy

Expert
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Apr 6, 2012
    NW Indiana
    Short version:

Had tons of fun. DNR RO was very nice. My friend is an idiot.

Long version:

So as you can guess by my post count, I am very new to firearms. A few months ago I got my Glock 21 for EDC, been doing a lot of research on hand guns in general and protection carrying in general. Have been to Debs twice and Blythes in valpo once to use their indoor ranges. I am by no means a skilled shooter but I am working on it.

So my friend, I shall call him "J", is an ex-navy seabee, calls me and says he and a bunch of people are headed to Jasper for few hours of shooting, do I want to come. Hell yes, I need all the experience I can get and as he is ex-military, I can learn from him.

I pull into the lot and DNR drives over, tells me I need to go 2 miles down the road and sign in. I explain that I have my EDC on me, when I return, does it need to be in a case or can I use it on the range from my holster (not practice drawing with a loaded gun, not experience enough for that yet, just unholster,lay gun on firing bench etc). He says do you have your permit? I did not correct him, but said yes. He said no problem.

So I sign in, come back but found my friends are at the 50 yard with a bunch of ar-15s, M1, etc. The 25 yard is packed. Well I will be lucky got get a decent amount on paper but whatever. So having fun but about an hour in I see the DNR pull up to the 50 yard, get out and yell that the range is no longer hot, put down your guns etc. Well everyone on the range did so except J who is still field striping his ar. DNR looks at me “does he speak English?” I yell J weapons down!. J grumbles to himself and stops and comes over. DNR explains that there were safety issues expressed that people were handling guns while the range was “clear” and people replacing targets. The whole time staring at J while going overthe range rules.