• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Hoosierbuck

Marksman
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Sep 1, 2010
    At least .357" diameter bullets, case no longer than +/- 1.625" (the length of .500 S&W cases) IIRC. Proposed length for next year is no longer than +/- 1.8" (the length of .460 S&W cases).

Short answer: No. Not legal.

Scotmak

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jul 18, 2010
    Mishawaka
    Hmmm confusing, I was reading that the 30-AR was taken from the 450 bushmaster.. Obviously I'm still learning about these rifle ammunitions. So is there a production AR in the 460? Is the 460 a better round then .458 socom, is the socom better then 450 bushmaster? Will these be the only legal rounds for hunting deer? Thanks for all of your patients and replies, I really appreciate the help.

melensdad

Grandmaster
    Rating - 94.7%
    18   1   0
    Apr 2, 2008
    Far West Suburban Lowellabama
    ...So is there a production AR in the 460? Is the 460 a better round then .458 socom, is the socom better then 450 bushmaster? Will these be the only legal rounds for hunting deer? Thanks for all of your patients and replies, I really appreciate the help.

The 450 Bushy uses handgun bullets and while it has higher velocities than the 458 Socom you are limited to weights and construction of handgun bullets. The 458 Socom allows for much heavier bullet choices and heavier construction of bullets, which makes it suitable for some game animals for which the 450 Bushmaster may be inadequate. For either whitetail deer or wild hogs either the 450 or the 458 will knock them down and leave them dead. That said, I'm not sure how you define "better."

Currently the 450 Bushmaster is not legal for Indiana deer hunting. That may (or may not) change for next year as the DNR is considering a minor rule change that would allow a few additional calibers to be classified as legal deer rounds.