• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • aclark

Master
    Rating - 100%
    21   0   0
    Apr 22, 2009
    The 219
    Well I have a couple things to do within the next 2-3 weeks on my remington 700, and wanted to see if anyone here (or any sponsers) could help with the tasks at hand.

First I need to mount a base, rings, and scope to my new rifle. The base arrived today, the rings should be here tuesday, and the scope [hopefully] later next week. I have never done this before, and would feel a bit more comfortable if I had someone helping me through it for the first time (or do the work while I possibly watch how its done). Also, if said person had somewhere to help me zero (100 yds)/break in the barrel that would be a bonus, but not a requirement as I can always go out to LCC and figure it out on my own.

A couple other things I'm looking to get done are 1.) a larger/extended bolt knob, and 2.) possibly a fluted bolt. This would take a bit more machine work and would preferably be done by a skilled gunsmith.

PMs are welcomed, but don't hesitate to reply here either.

Thanks,

Aaron

standeford

Marksman
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    May 10, 2009
    Indianapolis
    I'm way down SE of Indy, so probably out of range to help with the install. It isn't difficult but there are a few thing to pay attention to, which should be spec'd by the people who made your rings and base. Torque mainly. And different rings take up differently.

Anyway, for an oversized bolt handle maybe try hooperordnance@yahoo.com. He charges $50 for the install on your knob or you can buy a knob from him.

As for the bolt, I wouldn't flute a factory one. You don't really gain anything. A PTG 1 piece bolt would be a better choice if you aren't happy with the factory supplied one.

aclark

Master
    Rating - 100%
    21   0   0
    Apr 22, 2009
    The 219