• ...and so much more!
  • MPD179

Marksman
    Rating - 100%
    14   0   0
    Apr 11, 2009
    Northwest Indiana
    Hello gents,

I recently came across a PolyTech under folder that was involved in a house fire. A close friend of mine sold her to me for $25 and was going to try to restore her. She was in a fire safe during the fire and the wood is still in good condition & intact. I soaked the AK in CLP, let it sit over night, and gave her a light scrubbing with 0000 grade steel wool. The only things missing is the receiver cover & grip.

While getting a Google education on restoring her, I noticed it may be unsafe for restoring due to loss of the heat treatment? As good as she looks with a few hours of a little work I'm having a problem believing it. Then again, I'm no expert and asking for more knowledgeable opinions.

TheWabbit

Master
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Dec 9, 2011
    In my lair
    While getting a Google education on restoring her, I noticed it may be unsafe for restoring due to loss of the heat treatment? As good as she looks with a few hours of a little work I'm having a problem believing it. Then again, I'm no expert and asking for more knowledgeable opinions.

You have to get the temp of the rifle over ~800F (red) to affect the heat treatment. That is why you have to be careful which way you point the MAPP torch when you spot treat the ejector. If the wood is fine, that's a pretty good sign the rifle didn't reach those temperatures.

I'd be happy to double your money and pay you $50 for her. :)

Thor

Grandmaster
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Jan 18, 2014
    Could be anywhere
    What The Wabbit said ^^^.

If the wood didn't burn it didn't get that hot...see Fahrenheit 451 for reference. That was a heck of a deal. :ar15:

vitamink

Master
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    46   0   0
    Mar 19, 2010
    INDY