• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • harleymac1

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    6   0   0
    Dec 19, 2013
    Morgan County
    I have been reloading 9mm for a few years and decided to start reloading .223. I was hoping to get some education from some of you who have been doing this for awhile. I was hoping to find tips, tricks and best practices here. Also, I welcome suggestions on equipment for trimming, swaging, and deburring processes. Thanks in advance for the knowledge about to be shared here.

Loganwildman

Marksman
    Rating - 100%
    8   0   0
    Feb 29, 2012
    Logansport
    I have a couple single station presses that I use for case prep of rifle cases. First, I run them through the vibratory tumbler, then size/deprime in one press. After that, clean again, (just picked up a Franklin arsonal liquid tumbler as it will do a much better job removing the case lube). Next I 100% check for length and trim any long ones with a Lee shell holder in a cordless drill, and a lee case trimmer. After that I am setting up the second press to swage the primer pockets if its fired brass that is new to me, followed by deburring any that I trimmed.
    Once i get this time consuming stuff done, I load up the hopper on my Dillon xl650 and start cranking them out after getting the powder and seating die set for the bullet I am going to use.

One thing I'll warn you about... After loading 9mm, and being used to the # of rounds you can get out of a pound of powder, you'll shed a tear or two when you see how many .223 a pound of powder gets you lol

Bill2905

Master
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Feb 1, 2021
    Lake County
    I do bottleneck cartridge work on one single stage press. I was using a Lee turret press in single stage mode but recently acquired a Redding Big Boss 2 press.