• ...and so much more!
  • OutdoorDad

Master
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Apr 19, 2015
    Indianapolis
    I'm at a nexus.
    I've been reloading for a few years and worked up a few "favorite" loads in .45 and 9mm.
    In the past, I was just trying to replicate the bargain bulk ammo I was purchasing at WalMart and online.

I'm moving on to a new powder... it probably doesn't matter what i'm using now or what I'm leaving behind. But at the end of the day, I'm going to have to work up all new load data. Leaving PB for Tightgroup. Cause they don't make PB anymore. And I have a few lbs of Titegroup.

I was pretty effective with PB. Solid, repeatable performance with a few different bullet weights in .45. But I was only loading 9mm in 115 gr. Same as Winchester White box. A little snappier. But that was what I was going for.

I've got some berrys bullets in 115 and some Hornady hollow points. And I'll work through some loads with them until I run out. But I'm liking the polymer coated bullets as they seem to be significantly harder than berrys. Well, its not just 'seeming' -its reality. And I find them easier to load to a common standard when using mixed brass.

So...
    The question is, since I'm getting low on range projectiles, and have no more commitment to my old powder or lead, should I be looking in another direction?

Appreciate any and all input...

Leo

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    30   0   0
    Mar 3, 2011
    Lafayette, IN
    I have had good luck with polymer coated bullets, as well as the "black bullet". WHen I can get plated from Xtreme fr the same price or less, I go that route.

My Beretta and Springfield 9mm's group better with the 124 grain projectiles than 115's. Played very little with the 147's, didn't see too much advantage, unless you want low velocity for a suppressor. The heavier 124 gr bullets also give an edge slapping down steel, not like a 230 gr .45, but a down is down on the score card.

HamsterStyle

Master