• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • nahfuten

Marksman
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Oct 14, 2009
    Zionsville
    Anyone preparing for SHTF in an apartment?

My first choice is to pack up as much as possible in the SUV and get my wife and myself to my parents house. But, that includes a 3 hour drive on interstates and at least a half tank of gas, so I am a little nervous.

Please share any tips you have for preparing without a yard, garden, garage, or basement, the lack of freedom to reinforce the structure, and little storage space for excess supplies.

zoglog

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    56   0   0
    Sep 20, 2009
    Hendricks Co
    I think this will be an interesting thread. I am a newbie at the SHTF scenarios but here are my two cents.
    Keep the tank of your SUV above half all the time. My dad always did that and now I understand why. If there is a problem and you have to get the heck out of dodge you will always have atleast half of a tank. I use that and try to get my other half to also but she knows better:rolleyes: We are both college students still but it puts me at ease knowing I can get to her parents at any time since I am always above half. Also having set bags with food, clothing, supplies, and your firearms are probably also a good idea. There are some threads with what other INGO's have in their bags.

Bruenor

Expert
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Oct 26, 2008
    Pendleton
    In a major SHTF situation, don't count on being able to use the interstates. Not only will they be clogged with traffic, but if I remember correctly, the interstates can be closed to everyone but military personnel in the case of a national emergency.