• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Hosted

Plinker
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Jun 26, 2011
    Albion
    I bought 500 once fired 223 cases a few weeks ago and was wondering how I should go about reloading them. I'm starting to wonder if I should have tried to find all with 1 or 2 headstamps. I'm new to reloading and will be using for a 223 bolt action to develop target and varmint rounds for my rifle. I read things online how you want to keep brass the same and even find the volume of different brands and adjust for that. Some of the LC09 has a dented flash hole area that you can see and feel when cleaning the pockets and was wondering if they were still good? I was kind of disappointed that there wasn't 500 there. I may just be worrying to much but wanted to hear your thoughts. Here is the brass I have.

Winchester. 95
    LC08. 46
    LC09. 78
    LC misc. 20
    WCC 02. 68
    WCC 08. 12
    WCC misc. 7
    FC. 58
    RP. 46
    PMC. 17
    PMP. 17
    Unuseable. 9

mdemetz

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    May 27, 2009
    NW Elkhart Co.
    All the military(LC,WCC) and maybesome of the PMC & FC will have crimped in primers if once fired. These need to be swaged or reamed to remove the crimp.
    You may want to keep these separated as the feel of seating the primer will probably be different.

Hosted

Plinker
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Jun 26, 2011
    Albion
    Forgot to say they were swaged already. Well, most of them are. There are about 20 I need to figure out how to do.

indyjohn

PATRIOT
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    78   0   0
    Dec 26, 2010
    In the trees
    I read things online how you want to keep brass the same and even find the volume of different brands and adjust for that.

This is the only reason I sort my .223 brass (really, it is, I'm not OCD or anything... :rolleyes:).