• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • hfdcowboy

Marksman
    Rating - 100%
    26   0   0
    Oct 21, 2012
    Brownsburg
    Ok so let me start by saying I am a complete newbe on owning a NFA item. So on to my question from the veterans out there.

I acquired a home built AR .223 pistol with a 11.5 barrel. This is the soon to be "SBR". So if my understanding is correct I will fill out the form 1 pay the tax wait 6-8 months once the stamp arrives I can put a stock on this and its a SBR am I correct or am I missing something.

Sling10mm

Expert
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Mar 12, 2012
    That pretty much sums it up. I have done three that way. It's up to you, but I kept the parts to do the conversion at my in-laws until I received the tax stamps back. Not that the ATF was going to show up at my house, but just felt better not having the parts around until it was "legit."

MikeDVB

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    7   0   0
    Mar 9, 2012
    Morgan County
    I need to get a lower that I can dedicated to being an SBR. Probably go with something like 11.5" and possibly suppress it.

Only downside is finding subsonic ammo that will cycle the gun I imagine.

What, exactly, makes an AR-15 in .223/5.56 a "pistol" versus a "rifle"?

JoshuaW

Master
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Jun 18, 2010
    South Bend, IN
    I need to get a lower that I can dedicated to being an SBR. Probably go with something like 11.5" and possibly suppress it.

What, exactly, makes an AR-15 in .223/5.56 a "pistol" versus a "rifle"?

Lack of stock. Normally the "pistol" buffer tubes are unable to accept a stock.

rvb

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Jan 14, 2009
    IN (a refugee from MD)