• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • MrSmitty

Master of useless information
    Rating - 100%
    13   0   0
    Jan 4, 2010
    New Albany
    more detailed pictures of the barrel, near the breech, could be just a wall hanger, could be a Damascus barrel, does look like it has proof makes, I see something that looks like a Cresent moon, could be a Turkish proof mark, but I'm far from an expert. I hate to see good guns just sit, but, don't want anyone getting blown up either.. Just hang it over you fireplace till you get info...

fullmetaljesus

Probably smoking a cigar.
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    6   0   0
    Jan 12, 2012
    Indy
    more detailed pictures of the barrel, near the breech, could be just a wall hanger, could be a Damascus barrel, does look like it has proof makes, I see something that looks like a Cresent moon, could be a Turkish proof mark, but I'm far from an expert. I hate to see good guns just sit, but, don't want anyone getting blown up either.. Just hang it over you fireplace till you get info...
    The barrel does look like damascus.
    The pics fails to show how beautiful it is.

There are a couple marks by the breech but nothing I could say for certain what the look like. They kinds show up in the pics.

Magnum314

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    50   0   0
    Jan 12, 2010
    Central Indiana
    That's Belgium for sure. Or at least I am 99.99% sure. That "post/pedestal" identification visible in a magnified picture #2 is a Belgium black powder proof mark, called a "view mark", or the inspectors mark, in this case, Le Perron. Dating post 1811...pre-1968, most likely. I'll see what else I can dig up for you. Same inspector marks can be found on old Belgium doubles as well.

1616804362533.png

Last edited:

printcraft

INGO Clown
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    16   0   0
    Feb 14, 2008
    Uranus
    For sale? I'd like a buddy to take a look at it.

images

Leadeye

Grandmaster